Twelve years ago today,
I stepped into the waters of a new life.
I’d been swimming before,
but this was different – more freeing.

Once I went under,
in the name of the Father, the creator,
of all the miraculous goodness,
in this swirling universe teeming with life.

A second time I went under,
in the name of the Son, God come to save,
in fragile, perishable human flesh,
just like us, but divine and able rise again.

A third time I went under,
in the name of the Holy Spirit, the inspiring,
calling us closer and stirring up love,
gently breathing on us to share God’s grace.

I was soaked in those waters,
not really knowing what they meant,
and each and every day thereafter,
I am still trying to comprehend the promises.

But blessedly I’ve realized,
that I will never completely understand that day,
but that the promises made will continue,
unfolding in the mysterious embrace of a loving God.

© 2013. Annabelle Peake Markey. All rights reserved.

