….with hummus?!

I was watching tv the other day and I saw the following commercial for Sabra hummus:

First of all, I love hummus. Second, I love the bright colors used and the emphasis on different cultures and backgrounds. Third, it made me think of heaven. You may be asking, “what?!” Seriously though.

In the church we speak about Holy Communion as a foretaste of the feast to come and about one day being at the feast which will have no end. So when I see gorgeous scenery, a beautiful, rich, vibrantly-colored banquet table, and people coming together from every corner of the world, bringing their own experiences and stories to share at the table, I think of heaven.

I think of that place where all of God’s children will be gathered together and there will be no sorrow or pain, only life in the brilliant, loving light of God. But life is not just waiting for that future time and place.

Jesus declared that the kingdom of heaven (or kingdom of God) was already here! The kingdom is here among us, in the world. We can catch glimpses of it in all kinds of random and surprising places and times. This means during our lives we can all endeavor to work for the kingdom, seeking peace and justice for the poor, weak, oppressed or those who have no voice. Yes, the kingdom is here, but it is not yet fully realized – that will only happen in God’s time. So until that point, we can eat hummus and work for the kingdom! 😉

© 2011. Annabelle Peake Markey. All rights reserved.

